Harry H. Stine

Harry H. Stine
President & Founder

If you would like more information on Stine Seed Company, please contact:

Stine Seed Company
22555 Laredo Trail
Adel, IA 50003
Phone: 800.362.2510
Fax: 515.677.2716

My Stine Agronomy

Harry H. Stine

President & Founder

Joined Stine in: 1964


The name Harry Stine is synonymous with many titles - innovator, businessman, entrepreneur – but the title holding the most significance to him and those who know him well is Farmer.

Raised on the family property in Dallas County, Iowa, Harry graduated from Central Dallas High School and then McPherson College in Kansas. In 1964, he joined his father’s soybean cleaning business back in Adel, Iowa. 

The consummate researcher, Harry’s interest in seed breeding started when he found some unusual soybean plants in one of the company fields. He saw the value and additional profit opportunities that breeding, developing and growing newer, higher-yielding soybean varieties would have for his company as well as farmers. While yield checking the soybean lines, he came to understand what a conventional breeding program could bring to the soybean industry and to growers.

Previously only done by Universities, Harry Stine began a soybean breeding program with four other seedsman. Named Improved Variety Research, it was the first private soybean research and development company in the United States.

In 1973, IVR dissolved and Harry and head plant breeder Bill Eby formed Midwest Oilseeds, which today is still the soybean genetics licensing company of choice in the United States. Interest in corn breeding and genetics inspired Harry to form Eden Enterprises with Bill Eby in the early 80s.

Retail soybean seed sales efforts began in 1979, when Stine began selling soybean seed under his own label, Stine Soybean Seeds.  In 1992, in addition to being one of the top four soybean seed companies in the U.S., Stine began selling corn and soft red winter wheat under the Stine label.

Today, Stine is a member of the American Society of Agronomy and the American Seed Trade Association. In addition, he also serves on the board of directors of the Trees Forever Foundation, the Iowa Arboretum and the Brenton Arboretum.

Awards & Honors

1973 – Iowa’s Outstanding Young Farmer by the Iowa Jaycees

1989 – Agrimarketer of the Year, Iowa chapter of the National Agri-Marketing Association (NAMA) 

1989 – Ernst & Young Iowa/Nebraska Entrepreneur of the Year

2000 – 50 Most Influential Iowans by the Des Moines Register

2002  - Honorary Doctorate from McPherson College

2003  - Inducted into the Iowa Business Hall Of Fame 

2007 – Entrepreneurial Achievement Award from the Iowa Biotechnology Association

2007 – Distinguished Service to Agriculture Award from the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation

2013 – Named in top 100 CEOs Leaders in STEM by STEMconnector®